Student Resources


Eugene S. Pulliam Internship Program

The Hoosier State Press Association (HSPA) Foundation’s Eugene S. Pulliam Internship Program is named in honor of the late publisher of The Indianapolis Star and The Indianapolis News. The program offers work at daily and nondaily newspapers in Indiana and encourages students to enter careers in newspapers. To be eligible, students must have at least one semester of coursework remaining following the completion of the internship. Graduate students and former HSPA Pulliam interns are not eligible. In addition, applicants must be residents of Indiana or attend an Indiana college or university. More information »


Counts/Ahlhauser Scholarship

The scholarship honors two of Indiana University-Bloomington’s noted photojournalism professors. Both key figures in the history of photojournalism and at IU, Will Counts and John Ahlhauser brought their professional expertise to the classroom. The Counts/Ahlhauser Scholarship is awarded to IUB journalism students interested in photojournalism. The recipient is selected by a committee of photojournalism alumni and faculty based on the applicant’s work. More information »

Edward Reinke Scholarship in Photojournalism

This scholarship honors the memory of the late Associated Press photographer Ed Reinke. It is open to Indiana University-Bloomington undergraduate journalism students with financial needs. It is awarded with a strong preference for students preparing for careers in photojournalism. More information »

Roberts Camera Scholarship

The Roberts Camera Scholarship is funded by Roberts Camera stores in Indianapolis and Carmel, Indiana, and administered by the National Press Photographers Foundation (NPPF). It was established to help promote the art and business of photography to those looking to pursue a professional career in photojournalism. Roberts has had the pleasure to support professional photographers for almost 60 years and is dedicated to supporting future photographers. The scholarship is open to undergraduate and graduate students. More information »


Indiana College Photographer of the Year

Each February, the Indiana News Photographers Association judges student work as part of its annual contest weekend. The contest consists of several still photography categories along with a portfolio category. The winner of the portfolio category is the Indiana College Photographer of the Year. Any person who has attended an accredited college or university in the State of Indiana in the contest calendar year is eligible to enter. There is no fee for entering the INPA College Photographer of the Year contest. More information »

Will Counts Photojournalism Award

Each spring the Indiana chapter of the Associated Press Media Editors bestow this award upon the state’s top student photographer. It is named after former Indiana University photojournalism professor and Associated Press photographer Will Counts. The award is based on a portfolio of work, and it is typically presented to the winner at the APME awards banquet in Indianapolis in May. Indiana APME on Twitter.